New Zealand Stats

This website was really interesting to scout around, though there’s nothing much that really pertains to my topic. These stats caught my eye though; it really blew my mind that only about 77% of New Zealand has used a computer before. Of course, the accuracy is dependent on control group size (which I’m not sure of) but when I thought it through I realised the majority of these people would probably be the elderly. My Grandad has a computer (a Windows 98 he’s not willing to upgrade) and he uses it mainly for e-mail. My Grandma has no interest in it, as she’s lived her life perfectly well without a computer up until now and feels she doesn’t need to learn much new technology.

Screen shot 2014-04-26 at 4.29.43 PM

I honestly can’t remember why I saved the education/employment stats. I think it would be more helpful if the graph showed those that didn’t want to be unemployed – after a little thought I guessed that a percentage of those not in education or employment would be so by choice, as they could be raising families. My guess is that’s why the female bar is so much higher than the male bar (although I just hope that’s the case). In any case, for those unable to get a job or those stuck at home with a baby, self-education in a topic they are interested in is a great thing they could do.

Screen shot 2014-04-26 at 4.32.25 PM

REF: http://wikinewzealand.org/

Leave a Reply

